BJP Leadership

Atal Bihari Bajpai
Shri Bajpai was Prime Minister of India from May 16-31, 1996 and a second time from March 19, 1998 to May 13, 2004. With his swearing-in as Prime Minister, he has been the only Prime Minister since Jawaharlal Nehru to occupy the office of the Prime Minister of India through three successive mandates. Shri Bajpai has also been the first Prime Minister since Smt. Indira Gandhi to lead his party to victory in successive elections.

Lal Krishna Advani
Shri L K Advani is currently the Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha, and the Prime Ministerial Candidate of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) for the 2009 General Elections. Through the years Advaniji had served as the President of the Bharatiya Janata Party for the longest period since its inception in 1980. Capping a parliamentary career of nearly three decades, Advaniji was, first, the Home Minister and, later, the Deputy Prime Minister in the cabinet of Shri Atal Bihari Bajpai (1999-2004).

Nitin Gadkari
Nitin gadkari began as a grass root level worker and has successfully led from the front, several agitations and other programmes of the BJP . He has worked in different capacities and has held varied positions within the party, before taking up the post of Maharashtra BJP President in 2004. As a true party soldier, he has all along accepted whatever responsibility the party wanted him to shoulder and has carried it out to the best of his abilities.
After taking over as Maharashtra BJP President in November 2004, Mr. Gadkari visited almost every tehsil and knows countless party workers by name. Due to his dynamism, development-oriented approach and openness, the BJP has been able to bring various new sections of society in its fold.